About: The Scrabble School Preservation Foundation

The Scrabble School Preservation Foundation was established in the early 1990s by a notable alumnus, the late E. Franklin Warner. After the loss of Warner’s leadership following his death in 2003, the Foundation was revived by a group of alumni. The Board of Directors conceived the plan to rehabilitate the building as the county’s Senior Citizen Center, with dual use as a Heritage Center working to educate the public about the history of the school and the community it served.

The Scrabble School Preservation Foundation is a Tax exempt 501(c)(3).

Scrabble School reopened on May 2, 2009. 

Architects: Rowen Barton Studio, Charlottesville

Construction:  Dink’s Construction, Harrisburg.

In memory of The Reverend Anna Alsberry, who served until her death, February 7, 2010.


Susanna Spencer, Program Director

Board of Directors

Nan Butler Roberts, President

Scrabble School alumna. An analyst for Fairfax County, Virginia, Nan is also active in numerous community organizations. She joined the SSPF board in 2013.

Lillian F. Aylor, Vice President & Treasurer

Alumna of the Rosenwald School in Little Washington. She is employed by Mount Vernon Farms and is also a board member of the Aging Coalition and the Rappahannock Historical Society.

Ellen Timbers, Secretary

Scrabble School alumna. Clerk of Shiloh Baptist Church in Woodville, Virginia, and an organizer of the annual Rappahannock County Relay for Life.

And in alphabetical order:

James Allsberry

Replaced his wife, Scrabble alumna and Reverend Anna Allsberry, on the board following her death in February 2010. Active in many community organizations.

Stephanie Deutsch

Author, You Need a Schoolhouse: Booker T. Washington, Julius Rosenwald and the Building of Schools for the Segregated South (Northwestern University Press, 2011). Married to a great-grandson of Rosenwald, Deutsch became interested in Rosenwald Schools several years ago. She has lived in Washington, D.C., for thirty-five years and participates in the community in many ways, the most important being as chairman of the grants committee of the Capitol Hill Community Foundation, which annually gives away over $200,000 in small grants.

Melanie Thornhill Kopjanski

Scrabble School alumna. Melanie attended Scrabble during 1967-68—the only year the school was integrated and during which it was for first-grade students only. Her family has deep roots in Rappahannock County and she works with the family cattle business. She rejoined the board in 2016, after serving as president in 2010.

Estelle J. Lewis

Scrabble School alumna. She works for special needs adults as a Rehabilitation Specialist for the Rapidan-Rappahannock Community Services Board. Estelle is also a member of the Deacons Board and President of Missionaries for Shiloh Baptist Church.

Irene Timbers

Scrabble School alumna and regular visitor to the Senior Center.

Past President

Robert J. Lander, President (2003-2009; 2011-2015)

As president of Scrabble School Preservation Foundation, Bob was directly responsible for the school’s historic property’s restoration and creation of exhibit. He has played leadership roles in several organizations since retiring to Rappahannock County.


Patricia Saltonstall

Retired journalist whose column "Diplomatically Speaking" appeared in the Washington Star.


The Mission of the Scrabble School Foundation is to preserve the Scrabble School and to share its legacy through educational programs.